CNS is Celebrating 10 years!

Congratulations to the 2021 CNS Award Recipients

2021 Fellows

Robert Bertolo, PhD
Professor, Department of Biochemistry
Memorial University of Newfoundland
View Bio
Margaret E Brosnan, PhD
Professor Emerita
Memorial University of Newfoundland
View Bio
Valerie Tarasuk, PhD
Professor, Department of Nutritional Sciences
University of Toronto
View Bio


Career Recognition Awards

Khursheed Jeejeebhoy Award for Best Application of Clinical Nutrition Research Findings to Clinical Practice
John Sievenpiper, MD, PhD
University of Toronto
View Bio
Supported by Abbott Laboratories Co.
Young Investigator Award for Outstanding Research
Paul Spagnuolo, PhD
University of Guelph
View Bio
Supported by Abbott Laboratories Co.
CIHR INMD / CNS – New Investigator Partnership Prize
Crystal Karakochuk, PhD
University of British Columbia
View Bio
Supported by CNS and CIHR-INMD
Earle Willard McHenry Award for Distinguished Service in Nutrition
Raylene Reimer, PhD, RD
University of Calgary
View Bio
Supported by Fresenius Kabi
Allied Health Award in Nutrition Care
Marg Alfieri, RD
Primary Care Dietitians Association
View Bio
Supported by Nestlé Health Science
Nutrition Care Champion Award
Heather Wile RD, MA FDC
Nestlé Health Science Canada 

Supported by the Canadian Nutrition Society and the Canadian Malnutrition Task Force

Service Award

President's Volunteer Leadership Award
Danyelle Liddle
PhD Candidate, University of Guelph

Supported by Canadian Nutrition Society

Trainee Award

PhD Dissertation Award for Outstanding Research
Chelsia Gillis, RD, MSc, PhD
McGill University

Supported by Centrum


Abstract Awards

Clinical Nutrition Research Abstract Award
Justine Horne
Université Laval

Supported by the Canadian Nutrition Society
Thematic Conference Abstract Award
Salma Mahmoodianfard 
University of Ottawa

Supported by the Canadian Nutrition Society
Mohammed Moghadasian Award for Student Research in the Application of Nutrition in Cardiovascular Disease
Raniru Randunu
Memorial University

Sponsored by the Moghadasian Family
George Beaton Award for Student Work in Public Health Nutrition
Maria Tinajero
University of Toronto

Supported by the Canadian Nutrition Society
The Gordon F. Mutch Young Investigator Award in Diabetes Research
Sarah Jarvis
University of Toronto

Supported by the Mutch Family


Nutrition Graduate Student and Trainee Award Finalist /
Christine Gagnon Memorial Travel Award

Supported by Nestlé Nutrition

1st Place: Raniru Randunu, Memorial University

2nd Place: Rola Hammoud, University of Toronto

3rd Place TIE: Bastien Vallée Marcotte, Université Laval | Laura Vergeer, University of Toronto


CNS Poster Competition

Supported by Nestlé Nutrition

1st Place: Michael D. McAlpine, Brock University

2nd Place: Christine Mulligan, University of Toronto

3rd Place: Lulu X Pei, University of British Columbia


Nutrigraphic Award Competition

Supported by Mead Johnson Nutrition

1st Place:  Sarah Muncaster, Ryerson University

2nd Place:  Navreet Singh, University of Waterloo

3rd Place: Georgia Alton, Ryerson University



Publication Awards

Applied Physiology, Nutrition and Metabolism Award for Nutrition Translation. 

To be announced

Supported by Canadian Science Publishing and the Canadian Nutrition Society

© 2021 CNS-SCN - Canadian Nutrition Society